Skip to content

DIY: Upcycled snack bags

February 24, 2011

Plastic water bottles

We all drink water, we all end up with piles of these things, and we all recycle them… (right?)

To my surprise I recently read that the caps to these immortal landfill contributors are in fact a part of the plastic that is not recyclable!
In horror, I quickly opened up a Google tab in my browser and researched different uses for the seemingly harmless plastic caps.

Re-nest.com had in my opinion the most useful and practical project in upcycling plastic water bottles.

Here’s a step-by-step tutorial on how to make your very own air-tight snack bags using the caps:

You’ll need…

Instructions…





 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After you have filled your new snack bags (preferably with small snacks that can fit through the cap’s hole) you’re good to go!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 9:42 pm

    Diana this is such a great idea! I go through so many water bottles during the week and now I know what to do with them. I love bringing snacks to class, such as carrots and almonds so these snack bags will come in handy!!
    Thanks for the idea and I can’t wait for new posts! 🙂

  2. February 28, 2011 11:27 am

    This is a very interesting idea and your pictures are really well done. Good post

  3. February 28, 2011 2:50 pm

    That’s actually a really useful way to reuse the bottle caps. I always take a snack to school if I know I’m going to be there for a long time so I plan to try this out. My sister and I learned that bottle caps weren’t recyclable a while ago so we just simply decided to not buy water bottles anymore and just get a brita water filter which works great.

Leave a Reply

